Skip to content
2024 Annual Dinner - Catalyst Award

Greater Fort Dodge Growth Alliance Catalyst Award

The Greater Fort Dodge Growth Alliance is now accepting nominations for the Catalyst Award to be presented at the Annual Dinner on February 29 at Fort Frenzy. This prestigious award is sponsored by the Greater Fort Dodge Growth Alliance and is our pinnacle award given each year.

The Catalyst Award celebrates the "inspiration, charity, wisdom, unifier, and breath of life" of a professional in this community. This high level of accomplishment by a person in our community is acknowledged and honored through receiving this award from the Growth Alliance .

In mythology, flame is symbolic of charity, wisdom, and love. Flame is associated with fire and fire is a manifestation of the breath of life and a central element as a unifier and a stabilizer. According to mythology, fire as flame is said to represent the "breath of life, inspiration, and enlightenment." Kindling a fire can equate to birth, the act of creation.

This symbolism is alive and well amongst many professionals in Fort Dodge. The Greater Fort Dodge Growth Alliance honors such a person with our annual Catalyst Award. In the past the award alternated between male and female recipients. That requirement no longer exists. The Catalyst award is now given to the most qualified individual.
To be a candidate for this award, the following criteria must be met:

1. The nominee must presently be a member of the Greater Fort Dodge Growth Alliance or employed by a member firm, and have shown active involvement in Growth Alliance sponsored committees/activities.

2. The nominee must be an active, visible leader who is a catalyst for implementing actions that enhance the economic and civic environment of the community.

3. The nominee must consistently demonstrate excellence in their business or profession and in community service.

4. The nominee must have contributed exemplary time and effort to promote community spirit and civic pride.
All nominations are due by noon on February 16, 2023. Click here to nominate a deserving individual.

Please contact Jill Nelson with questions at 515.955.5500 or

Past Catalyst Award Winners

Year AwardedName of Recipient
2023Larry Bushman
2022Dave Flattery
2020Dr. Terry Moehnke
2019Bob Singer
2018John Taets
2017Bruce Shimkat
2016Scott McQueen
2015Kraig Barber
2014Randy Kuhlman
2013Deb Johnson
2012Terry Allers
2011Sue Thompson
2010Bennett O’Connor
2009Rhonda Chambers
2008Tom Tibbitts
2007Ann Lenox
2006Casey Johnson
2005Connie Lind-Fraher
2004Dennis Plautz
2003Ramona Weins
2002Mel Schroeder
2001Patty Donnelly
2000Larry Hickey
1999Cary Estlund
1998Dr. David Haggard
1997Anita Patterson
1996KaRene Egemo
1995Bev Baedke
1994Lin Simpson
1993Trudy Yoder
1992Claire F. Carlson
1991Judy Peters
1990Dr. Mary Sula Linney
1989Dr. Joyce Garton-Natte
1988Dr. June Gabler
1987Norma Schmoker