Forum will introduce state, Webster County candidates

Forum will introduce state, Webster County candidates Main Photo

30 Sep 2018

Bill Shea

Candidates for state and county offices will answer questions from the public during a forum Wednesday in Fort Dodge.

The forum will begin at 5:30 p.m. in the Bioscience and Health Sciences Center at Iowa Central Community College.

The first candidates to field questions will be Democrat Brenda Angstrom and Republican Kate Stucky, who are seeking to become the next Webster County treasurer.

They are vying to replace Treasurer Jan Messerly, who is retiring when her current term ends.

At 5:50 p.m., the candidates for Webster County supervisor from District 4 will take the stage. They are Democrat Niki Conrad, Republican incumbent Merrill Leffler and independent candidate Eugene Newsome. District 4 includes parts of western and northern Fort Dodge.

At 6:30 p.m. the candidates for Iowa House of Representatives from District 9 will begin answering questions. They are Republican Ann Meyer and Democrat Megan Srinivas. House District 9 includes Badger, Clare, Duncombe, Fort Dodge, Vincent and rural areas of northern Webster County.

Meyer and Srinivas hope to replace state Rep. Helen Miller, D-Fort Dodge, who is retiring.

At 7:15 p.m., the candidates for Iowa Senate District 5 will take their turn. They are Republican incumbent Tim Kraayenbrink and Democrat John O’Brien. Senate District 5 includes Calhoun, Humboldt and Pocahontas counties, plus most of Webster County.

Full article.

Facebook Twitter LinkedIn Email