City inauguration

3 Jan 2018

Bill Shea

The newest member of the Fort Dodge City Council joined the re-elected mayor and councilmembers in taking the oath of office in a Tuesday morning ceremony that formally installed the city’s leaders.

The new councilmember, Lydia Schuur, stood with re-elected councilmen Kim Alstott, Dave Flattery, Dean Hill and Terry Moehnke as Iowa Supreme Court Chief Justice Mark Cady, a Fort Dodge resident, led them in reciting the oath of office in a Municipal Building ceremony.

Minutes later, Cady administered the oath of office to Mayor Matt Bemrich, who was re-elected to a third term in November.

About 50 people were in the council meeting room for the inauguration ceremony.

“The path to public service has many different routes, but they all end at this time, at this moment, with this final stage of the public oath of office,” Cady said. “This public oath, as you will hear, is what binds everyone together that serves in public.”

According to Cady, the oath symbolizes “the commitment to public service, the commitment to build a better future, the commitment to do so based on the values that are our collective values in our Constitution.”

Schuur won at at-large seat on the council in the November general election. She replaces former Councilman Andy Fritz, who lost his bid for a third term.

Moehnke is beginning his third term as the councilmember representing Ward 1, which includes the western and northwestern parts of the city plus Pleasant Valley and part of downtown.

Hill, who previously served as an at-large councilmember, is beginning his second term representing Ward 2, which is the southern part of the city.

Flattery is beginning his fourth term representing Ward 3, which is the northeastern side of the city. He was an at-large councilmember from 2008 to 2011.

Alstott is beginning his fourth term representing Ward 4, which is the north central part of the city.

Councilman Jeff Halter won his second term as an at-large councilman in November, but he was not present for Tuesday’s ceremony. He was sworn into office on Dec. 19 by Deputy City Clerk Dawn Siebken.

The seventh member of the governing body, Councilman Neven Conrad, was not on the November ballot. His term doesn’t expire until the end of 2019.

Full article.


Facebook Twitter LinkedIn Email