Messenger earns Mark Twain Award

Messenger earns Mark Twain Award Main Photo

5 Feb 2017

The Messenger was given the Mark Twain Award Friday, bestowed by The Associated Press for being the Iowa Associated Press Member of the Year 2016.

Jane Curtis, Messenger editor, accepted the award during the Iowa Newspaper Association’s annual convention in Des Moines.

The plaque, given by Kia Breaux, AP regional director for the Midwest, bears this Mark Twain sentiment: “There are only two forces that can carry light to all the corners of the globe … the sun in the heavens and the Associated Press down here.”

Hans Madsen of The Messenger won first place for a news photo, which is pictured above.

Full article.

Facebook Twitter LinkedIn Email